And that’s how it should be done!

where she went

Gayle Forman knows how to write a book. At least the second time around she does. As I close the cover on Where She Went, the follow-up successor to Forman’s If I Stay, I am left grinning like a fool, tears drying up in my eyes and wanting MORE!

Where She Went is Adam’s tale. The supportive and loving boyfriend who sat by Mia’s side while she contemplated life or death, unbeknownst to him. I usually am not down with follow-up books being told from the male’s perspective, because I find it repetitive and boring. But this was not the case! Adam’s story takes place 3 years after “the accident” and lets readers satisfy that need of wondering….wondering what happened to the characters, where are they now and what transpired from previous events.

I have a personal attraction towards Series’. I NEED to know what happens next. I get so attached to the characters and their stories, that I wish most books were 5000 pages long, or a series of 20. And that’s how I felt with Where She Went. It gave me the information that I was craving. The inside details of Adam and Mia…the guts. And it was fantastic. And the fact that Adam achieves his “dreams and desires” of becoming a Rock Star, which means countless mentions of musical artists, songs, albums and lyrics just adds to the affection I feel towards this book.

If I had to have one criticism, it would be that no matter how much closure I felt at the end, no matter how big of a smile I had when I turned that last page…I was still left wanting more. What happens next?! Did things go as planned? Can the term “happily ever after” be said for Adam and Mia’s tale?

But, is that really a criticism or just the sign of a well-written novel? And possibly the symptom of being a book junkie?

“The things that don’t matter easy come and go
And the things that satisfy only come real slow”

Leave a Reply

